

NEWS RELEASE

January 8, 2025

Interim Council Elects Reeve, Deputy Reeve and Appoints Board Positions

(Rocky Mountain House, AB) – On January 7, 2025, the Interim Council of the newly amalgamated Clearwater County met for their inaugural meeting. This is the first meeting of the Interim Council since the amalgamation of Clearwater County and the Village of Caroline, effective January 1, 2025.

After being sworn in at the organizational meeting on January 7, 2025, Councillors elected a Reeve and Deputy Reeve and appointed various board and committee positions. The Interim Council subsequently met for a regular meeting, where they approved the preexisting 2025 budgets for Clearwater County and Caroline.

Clearwater County Interim Councillors elected **Interim Reeve – Michelle Swanson** and **Interim Deputy Reeve – Bryan Cermak**. The remaining Interim Council members are Councillor Gennifer Mehlhaff, Councillor Daryl Lougheed, Councillor Jordon Northcott, Councillor Neil Ratcliffe and Councillor Barbara Gibson.

The Interim Council will serve the newly formed municipality until the next municipal election on October 20, 2025.

Interim Council committee and board appointments include:

Ward One:	Gennifer Mehlhaff
	Bighorn Back Country Standing Committee and Clearwater Forest Recreational
	Trail Initiative
	Broadband Committee
	Caroline and District Recreation and Agricultural Society Alternate
	Clearwater Regional Emergency Advisory Committee
	Land Use Bylaw Rewrite Council Steering Committee
	Land Use Bylaw Rewrite Public Advisory Committee
	Municipal Planning Commission (MPC)
	North Saskatchewan Recreation Board
	North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance Board of Directors and the Headwaters
	Partnership Steering Committee
	Rocky – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee
	Rocky – Clearwater Intermunicipal Development Plan Committee
	Rocky/Clearwater Health Professionals Engagement Team
	Rocky Community Learning Council (RCLC) Board
	Strategic Planning Committee
Ward Three:	Daryl Lougheed
	Agricultural Service Board (ASB)
	Broadband Committee
	Clearwater County Heritage Grant Advisory Committee

Page 1 of 4

4340 – 47 Avenue | Box 550 Rocky Mountain House, AB T4T 1A4 403 845 4444 403 845 7330 Fax

www.clearwatercounty.ca



NEWS RELEASE January 8, 2025

Ward Three:	Daryl Lougheed (Continued) Clearwater Regional Emergency Advisory Committee David Thompson Recreation Board Lacombe – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Land Use Bylaw Rewrite Council Steering Committee Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) Ponoka – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Red Deer – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee School Resource Officer (SRO) Committee Strategic Planning Committee
Ward Four:	Jordon Northcott Agricultural Service Board (ASB) Broadband Committee Caroline Municipal Library Board Central Alberta Economic Partnership (CAEP) Clearwater Regional Emergency Advisory Committee Community Futures – Central Alberta (CFCA) Land Use Bylaw Rewrite Council Steering Committee Mountain View – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Parkland Regional Library Board Raven Recreation Board Red Deer – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Strategic Planning Committee Sundre Forest Products Public Involvement Round Table (SPIRT) Sundre Petroleum Operators Group (SPOG) Board of Directors
Ward Five:	 Neil Ratcliffe Bighorn Back Country Standing Committee and Clearwater Forest Recreational Trail Initiative Alternate Bighorn - Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Brazeau - Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Clearwater Regional Emergency Advisory Committee Clearwater Regional Family and Community Support Services Committee Land Use Bylaw Rewrite Council Steering Committee Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) Nordegg Community Association North Saskatchewan Recreation Board Rocky - Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Rocky - Clearwater Intermunicipal Development Plan Committee

4340 – 47 Avenue | Box 550 Rocky Mountain House, AB T4T 1A4 403 845 4444 403 845 7330 Fax Page 2 of 4

www.clearwatercounty.ca



NEWS RELEASE January 8, 2025

Ward Five:	<u>Neil Ratcliffe (Continued)</u> School Resource Officer (SRO) Committee Alternate Strategic Planning Committee Yellowhead – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee
Ward Six:	 Bryan Cermak Bighorn – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Broadband Committee Caroline and District Recreation and Agricultural Society Central Alberta Mayors' and Reeves' Committee Central District 2 Rural Municipalities of Alberta (CRMA) Board of Directors Alternate Clearwater Regional Emergency Advisory Committee Land Use Bylaw Rewrite Council Steering Committee Raven Recreation Board Rocky Senior Housing Council Strategic Planning Committee Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) Alternate Vice-Chair Sundre Forest Products Public Involvement Round Table (SPIRT) Alternate Sundre Petroleum Operators Group (SPOG) Board of Directors Alternate Sundre RCMP Community Advisory Committee West Central Stakeholder Group
Ward Seven:	Michelle Swanson Brazeau – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Broadband Committee Burnstick Lake – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Central Alberta Mayors' and Reeves' Committee Central District 2 Rural Municipalities of Alberta (CRMA) Board of Directors Clearwater County Heritage Grant Advisory Committee Alternate Clearwater Regional Emergency Advisory Committee David Thompson Recreation Board Alternate Lacombe – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Land Use Bylaw Rewrite Council Steering Committee Mountain View County Local and Regional Municipal Airports Working Group Ponoka – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee Rimbey RCMP Community Advisory Committee Rocky – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee

4340 – 47 Avenue | Box 550 Rocky Mountain House, AB T4T 1A4 403 845 4444 403 845 7330 Fax



NEWS RELEASE January 8, 2025

Ward Seven:	<u>Michelle Swanson (Continued)</u> Rocky Mountain House Museum Operations Board Rocky Senior Housing Council Strategic Planning Committee Wetaskiwin – Clearwater Intermunicipal Committee Yellowhead – Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee
Interim Councillor:	Barbara GibsonBroadband CommitteeCaroline Municipal Library BoardClearwater Regional Emergency Advisory CommitteeClearwater Regional Family and Community Support Services CommitteeLand Use Bylaw Rewrite Council Steering CommitteeLand Use Bylaw Rewrite Public Advisory Committee AlternateParkland Regional Library Board AlternateRocky Mountain House Municipal Library BoardRocky Mountain House Museum Operations BoardStrategic Planning CommitteeSubdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) ChairWetaskiwin – Clearwater Intermunicipal Committee

-30-

Media Inquiries: Clearwater County Communications <u>communications@clearwatercounty.ca</u> 403-845-4444

4340 – 47 Avenue | Box 550 Rocky Mountain House, AB T4T 1A4 403 845 4444 403 845 7330 Fax ⊃age 4 of 4

www.clearwatercounty.ca