



April 23, 2021 - FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Councils reach ICF and Community Service Support agreements

(Rocky Mountain House, AB) – Councils for the Town of Rocky Mountain House and Clearwater County are celebrating intermunicipal milestones.

Clearwater County Reeve Cammie Laird and Town of Rocky Mountain House Mayor Tammy Burke today signed the Rocky Mountain House-Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF), and a Community Support Service Agreement (CSSA). The ICF is a legislative requirement under the Municipal Government Act, while the CSSA is a novel approach to cost-sharing of regional infrastructure.

"The Town of Rocky Mountain House is proud of the Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework signed today with Clearwater County. As our closest neighbouring municipality, we share many interests and challenges. The ICF will guide us through future collaborations in the best interest of all area residents," said Mayor Tammy Burke,"

"Today marks a significant milestone for our community partnership. It can be said that where there are steppingstones, there is a journey and milestones to mark our path for all to see. Our progress is marked by such markers," said Clearwater County Reeve Cammie Laird. "The process to achieve this moment was not filler, we have been busy. Our respective team members took the time to recognize, accept and celebrate our differences and strengths to accomplish this task."

The ICF sets out broad parameters of how the Town of Rocky Mountain House and Clearwater County will approach integrated and strategic planning, delivery and funding of intermunicipal services, steward resources and ensure both Town and County contribute funding to services that benefit their residents.

The purpose of this Framework, and the agreements that flow from it, is to better serve ratepayers and provide high quality of life to the residents of the Town of Rocky Mountain House and Clearwater County by ensuring that growth management, land use planning, programs and services are effectively, efficiently and economically delivered and are reasonably available to them.

Clearwater County and the Town of Rocky Mountain House have a long history of working together on common issues and interests. The Stronger Together Agreement, first signed in 2013, is a companion document to this ICF.

Community Support Service Agreement

Tax-exempt properties exist in both Town and County and provide services to residents of both municipalities. These properties include municipal government buildings, community halls, cemeteries, schools, public health facilities, churches and certain non-profit organizations as exempt from municipal property taxes under the MGA.

Rocky Mountain House and Clearwater County have agreed to share the property tax exempt burden among ratepayers of both municipalities in the interest of advancing regional cooperation.





"The Community Support Service Agreement is a groundbreaking financial agreement between rural and urban municipalities," said Burke. "By considering each municipality's tax-exempt properties as the basis of the cost-sharing agreement, the burden of providing municipal services to tax-exempt properties such as schools, hospitals, churches and non-profit organizations is shouldered equally by Town and County taxpayers."

Using tax-exempt properties as the baseline for calculating the annual cost-share between municipalities is a new method for Alberta municipalities. Both Town and County Councils are proud to take this significant step forward as leaders in intermunicipal relationships.

The annual payment will be calculated each year and based on the population of Clearwater County within the defined area immediately surrounding Rocky Mountain House, the assessed value and loss of revenue for tax-exempt properties in each municipality. The details of these factors are outlined in the CSSA schedules.

In 2021, Clearwater County will transfer \$406,644.00 to the Town of Rocky Mountain House.

This payment is only to be used for infrastructure repair, maintenance or construction that benefits residents of both municipalities, as specified in the CSSA.

The five-year agreement will be reviewed annually.

-30-

Media inquiries may be directed to Communications Coordinators for both municipalities:

Laura Button
Communications Coordinator
Town of Rocky Mountain House
403-845-2866
Ibutton@rockymtnhouse.com

Michael McLean Communications Coordinator Clearwater County 403-845-4444

mmclean@clearwatercounty.ca





April 23, 2021

Councils reach ICF and Community Service Support agreements

Related media and documents:

Rocky Mountain House-Clearwater Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework

Community Support Service Agreement

Livestream of Signing Ceremony

Stronger Together Agreement



Rocky Mountain House Mayor Tammy Burke and Clearwater County Reeve Cammie Laird.

Photo by Marina Kulich | Town of Rocky Mountain House