2021 Municipal Election

Voter Registration  

Are you on the voters list? Clearwater County is preparing a list of residents in the County who are eligible to vote in the upcoming 2021 Municipal Election on Monday, October 18, 2021. All County residents eligible to vote need to register prior to voting in the upcoming election. 

To register your name on the voter’s list you will need to upload acceptable identification.

Click here to register to vote

Not on the list? Consider the following:

  • Did you change addresses within Clearwater in the last 4 years?
  • Did you change your first or last name in the last 4 years?
  • Did you turn 18 in the last 4 years?
  • Are you new to Clearwater?

If yes to any of the above you may not be on the list or you may be on the list with old information. You can use your old information to update changes to your name and address. 

If you need assistance you can email returningofficer@clearwatercounty.ca with the following information:

  • first and last name
  • your residential address (blue sign) and mailing address including postal code
  • phone number
  • date of birth

OR you can give us a call at 403-845-4444 for assistance. 

The next municipal election is Monday, October 18, 2021.

The next municipal general election will be held on October 18, 2021. In Clearwater County, each of the seven electoral divisions elects one Councillor. The term of office is for four years with no limit on the number of times a Councillor can be re-elected. After the general election, the seven Councillors elect from among themselves a Reeve and a Deputy Reeve at an Organizational Meeting held each year in October.

Nominations for Councillors are being accepted by the Returning Officer from Monday, January 4, 2021, until 12:00 noon on Monday, September 20, 2021. Prospective candidates filing their nominations must schedule an appointment with the Returning Officer, Sabrina Walter at the Clearwater County office at 4340-47th Avenue, Rocky Mountain House during regular business hours. Due to the current COVID restrictions, candidates will need to book an appointment by calling 403-845-4444.

School board trustee nominations for the Wild Rose School Division, Wolf Creek School Division and Red Deer Catholic Schools will also be accepted from Monday, January 4, 2021, until 12:00 noon on Monday, September 20, 2021 at the School Division Office. Please contact individual school divisions for your nomination package.

Important Upcoming Election dates

Monday, January 4, 2021 First day to file nomination papers

Monday, September 20, 2021 Last day to file nomination papers. Deadline is 12:00 pm (noon)

Tuesday, September 21, 2021 12:00 pm (noon) deadline for candidates to withdraw nominations (restrictions apply) 

Monday, October 4, 2021 Advanced Voting

Monday, October 18, 2021 Election Day

Friday, October 22, 2021 Official Election Results

Join Our Election Team: Clearwater County is looking for Contract Municipal Election Workers for the upcoming Municipal Election on Monday, October 18, 2021. 

To apply, please submit a completed application via email to returningofficer@clearwatercounty.ca or call 403 845 4444 for more information.