Clearwater County

Skip To Content

Search The Website

Search The Website



Text Sizer and Google Translate

  • font sizeA
  • A
  • A

Make a difference: serve on a board or committee

Serving on a board or committee is an excellent opportunity to share your skills and expertise and to give back to your community. The next public recruitment for boards and committees is now open. Deadline to apply is 4:30 p.m. October 12, 2018. Clearwater County would like to welcome interested residents to apply for the following board/committee vacancies:
Agricultural Service Board (ASB) – 2 Members
This Board serves as an advisory body to Council and residents on all matters pertaining to agriculture.  It meets on the third Friday every two months during the day.  This is a four-year term appointment, effective November 1, 2018.

Central Alberta Economic Partnership (CAEP) – 1 Member 
CAEP is a regional economic development alliance with a primary goal to cultivate, advocate and market the collective voice of the region. This Board generally meets twice per year with an AGM in June. This is a one year term appointment, effective November 1, 2018.  

Clear Water Landcare Board (CWL) – 2 Members (to be selected by ASB)
A sub-committee of the Agricultural Services Board, CWL provides leadership, support and awareness of grassroots land and water stewardship. The CWL board meets about six times per year and requires members from rural lifestyles (farm or acreage).  This is a three-year term appointment, effective November 1, 2018.

Municipal Planning Commission (MPC) – 2 Members
This Board reviews and makes decisions concerning development and subdivision applications, and makes recommendations on rezoning.  MPC generally meets on the third Wednesday of each month during the day.  This is a one-year term appointment, effective November 1, 2018.

Physician Recruitment and Retention Committee – 2 Members
The purpose of this committee is to provide policy governance for attracting and retaining physicians to the area.  This committee meets as required, approximately every two months. This is a one-year term appointment, effective November 1, 2018.

Rocky Mountain House and District Recreation, Parks and Community Services Board – 1 Member
This Board’s purpose is to create and operate recreational programs, services and facilities for the Town and a designated area of the County.  It meets on the first Wednesday evening of each month.  This is a three-year term appointment, effective January 1, 2019.

Rocky Mountain House Municipal Library Board – 1 Member
This Board acts as an advisory board to the Town and County Councils regarding Rocky Mountain House Library issues.  Meetings take place the third Wednesday evening of each month. This is a three-year term appointment, effective January 1, 2019. 

Rocky Senior Housing Council – 1 Member
The purpose is to provide policy governance for senior housing in the area.  It meets on the second Wednesday evening of each month.  This is a one-year appointment, effective 
November 1, 2018.

Subdivision Development Appeal Board (SDAB) – 4 Members and 3 Alternate Members
The purpose of this Board is to provide an appeal mechanism for development and subdivision applications.  This Board meets when required (on an average of five times per year).  This is a one-year appointment, effective November 1, 2018. As per the new MGA, mandatory training must be completed to sit on the SDAB; training will only be provided on November 7, 2018.

Application forms are available here.
Applications will be received from County residents, for all the above positions, at the County Office until October 12, 2018 at 4:30 p.m.  

Applications may be submitted as follow:
Fax: 403-845-7330
Mail:  Clearwater County, Box 550, Rocky Mountain House, Alberta T4T 1B4, 
Attention: Tracy Haight

Council will appoint members-at-large during their 2018 Organization Meeting, which takes place October 23.

Dated this 21st day of September 2018
Rick Emmons, Municipal Manager


Frequently Asked Questions

How are members selected?
The selection process information will be coming soon.
What if I am not the successful applicant?
Clearwater County appreciates the interest of all applicants. If you applied for a position but were not selected for an appointment, please note that all applicants received will be kept until the start of the next recruitment period and will be considered throughout the ensuing year if vacancies arise.
When are members selected?
For positions beginning November 1, 2019, online applications will be available in September 2018 and members will be selected during Council's Organizational meeting taking place during their regular Council meeting on Tuesday, October 23, 2018 at 9:00 a.m.
Who can apply?
In most cases, public members must be residents of Clearwater County unless otherwise stated in the board or committee's terms of reference. If you are interested in applying, please review the specific board or committee's mandate, eligibility requirements, and time commitment which can be viewed by selecting the board or committee from the list of Boards and Committees page or contact the main office at 403-845-4444.
Clearwater County is looking for:
  • Individuals with a desire to give back to the community;
  • Individuals with specific expertise relevant to the qualifications a specific board or committee may be looking for; and,
  • Individuals with time available to commit to membership.